4.95/5
Sports Medicine at Chelsea -  - Primary Care Physician

Sports Medicine at Chelsea

Primary Care Physicians & Sports Medicine Specialists located in Chelsea, New York, NY

22 total reviews

Testimonials & Reviews

Sports Medicine at Chelsea always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 22 reviews with an average rating of 4.95 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Sports Medicine at Chelsea below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.
Submitted 12/03/15
Dr. Rao has changed my life. His approach to patient care is unlike anything I've experienced. He looks at things from multiple viewpoints to develop treatment protocol. Before seeing Dr. Rao I lived in constant pain and was a prisoner to back/neck issues. Within a month, I improved so much, I asked Dr. Rao to also be my GP. My pain is now completely managed and I know I'm in fantastic hands. I consider myself very lucky to have met Dr. Rao.
Submitted 09/15/15
I hit the jackpot when I found Dr. Stark, I sprained my left knee at work, I'm a federal Correctional Officer and I needed a Dr. who specialized in workers Compensation cases, I was able to see him two days after my injury, which was a miracle these days. the office is very clean, I waited about twenty minutes to see him and his clerical assistant, Lyubava, was extremely professional, she said that the letter for my employer, so that I can return to work , was going to be e-mailed to me at 7pm, I checked my E-mail and it was there at said time, that speaks volumes about her integrity , Dr. Stark was very comforting and engaging, I felt very comfortable in his care, my wife, which accompanied me, also felt that I received great care and a great evaluation, he is a pretty funny guy also. that's a good thing, I have to return for my physical therapy but I am sure it is going to be as seamless as the initial examination. not surprised about the rest of the positive reviews.
Submitted 08/27/15
Dr. Stark acted quickly in a very serious situation for me. I believe I am not paralyzed because of his judgement on how to handle my particular condition. When he sent me for testing at an imaging facility, and my results required immediate hospitalization, Dr. Stark got on the phone with me while I was at the imaging center to direct me to the Emergency Room. In the months following that, and while I was undergoing treatment, I called Dr. Stark's office twice to keep him updated on my progress, and he called me back within a couple of hours each time. He stayed on the phone with me so patiently and with genuine concern, asking me questions and guiding me. I have recommended Dr. Stark to two close friends who needed orthopedic treatment, and have since switched him to my PCP. Not only is he a wonderful doctor, the office staff has been unbelievably helpful in scheduling, giving me referrals and following up.
Submitted 08/19/15
Good Experience...Very easy to talk to and made me feel comfortable
Submitted 08/14/15
Dr. Rao is casual (in a good way), professional, and listens well to what you need as a patient. He seems to genuinely care about getting you the best and most comprehensive treatment.
Submitted 08/05/15
Dr. Rao is fantastic. He has a very calm and inviting energy. He gave me great recommendations on what we can do to further improve my injuries. He was recommended to me and I would definitely recommend him to anyone in need of a sports medicine physician.
Submitted 07/22/15
Great experience!
Submitted 07/21/15
Kind, thorough, and helpful. He targeted my pain quickly and knew how to help me.
Submitted 07/17/15
Dr. Degenhardt is awesome!!
Submitted 07/14/15
I had a good exerience. The frontdesk staff was efficient. A PA saw me promtly, was great building rapport, presented the case to the doctor whom saw me and examine me. I was very happy with the experience.
Submitted 06/26/15
The doctor saw me right on time. He was warm and engaging and explained everything to me. I did not at all feel rushed. He Gave me a diagnosis and recovery plan that seems reasonable.
Submitted 06/25/15
I've Seen Dr. Degenhardt for a few years now and he has always been excellent. He is always friendly, wise and very personable. Remembers me despite only a few visits a year. He has always given great advice and is the best Doctor I have ever had.
Submitted 06/24/15
Going to a new doctor can be intimidating, but everyone here was incredibly kind and helpful.
Submitted 06/11/15
I made the appointment the day before, and the practice was able to accommodate me. Dr Rao was very pleasant and thorough and knowledgeable. It's the first time I've felt hopeful about feeling some relief from wrist/hand pain. He recommended PT, which is going great. I would definitely recommend Dr. Rao!
Submitted 06/09/15
The whole staff from beginning to end were very friendly and helpful!
Submitted 06/09/15
I've been going to Sports Medicine at Chelsea for almost five years now. I see Dr. Rao for a very complicated injury and the PRP therapy he has done on me has given me pain relief and hope where no one else has. He is both compassionate and good with a needle! There are flexible office hours, short wait times and the front staff is the most friendly and helpful of any doctor I've ever visited. I highly recommend!
Submitted 06/09/15
Everyone very professional and helpful - great experience - am on my way now to a hip and hamstring that don't hurt!!
Submitted 06/09/15
Always a pleasure working with Dr. Rao...professional, knowledgable, and efficient!
Submitted 06/09/15
Dr. Degenhardt has all of the qualities that you'd want in your physician - intelligent, deliberate, patient, etc.
Submitted 06/09/15
Dr. Degenhardt is always so thorough and caring. Always a positive experience.
What we offer

Services

Major Insurance Providers Accepted

Below is a list of the insurance providers that our practice accepts.  Please call our office if you have any questions.

  Regence Blue Cross Blue Shield
1199SEIU
Aetna
Allegiance Life and Health
Blue Cross Blue Shield
CBA Blue
Cigna
GWH-Cigna (formerly Great West Healthcare)
Independence Blue Cross
Multiplan PHCS
Oxford (UnitedHealthcare)
UnitedHealthcare
Location
Sports Medicine at Chelsea
22 West 21st Street, Suite 400
Chelsea

New York, NY 10010
Phone: 646-582-2056
Fax: 212-366-6275
Office Hours

Sports Medicine at Chelsea
22 West 21st Street
Suite 400
New York, NY 10010